Dec. 10, 2016

The 2016 Channel VAS Championship at St. George’s Hill, PSA M100 Tournament drew to a surprising and applaud-worthy close in Weybridge a couple of days ago.

In exciting qualifier gameplay of gameplay, three of the four matches were won by the lower-ranked player in the match – this stunning victory for Daryl Selby and Stephen Coppinger especially, will make the draw for the Quarter Final (Dec. 10th) quite the lineup.

One of the best games was the match with Stephen Coppinger facing Omar Mosaad. Ranked 16th in the world, the South African qualifier, Stephen Coppinger upset Omar Mosaad, ranked 8th in the world. Mosaad attempted to vary his hitting through the fourth and fifth games but through a series of errors on his backhand side saw Coppinger victorious.

Stephen Coppinger and Omar Mosaad

Stephen Coppinger and Omar Mosaad

Coppinger took the game in 77 minutes: 11-8, 11-9, 6-11, 6-11, 11-3.

An even bigger upset saw World Number 1 Mohamed ElShorbagy himself defeated by Englishman Daryl Selby.

However, former Number 1 James Willstrop defeated his opponent, Swiss qualifier Nicolas Mueller in straight games. Willstrop was playing with fire in his belly as it had been only four days since his defeat to rival Nick Matthew in the finals of the AJ Bell British Squash Grand Prix in Manchester, England.

James Willstrop and Nicolas Mueller

James Willstrop and Nicolas Mueller

Despite his recent game, Willstrop came through with no signs of fatigue and went roaring to victory in a quality third game for a final win of: 11-7, 11-9, 11-8.

Marwan ElShorbagy, ranked 6th in the world, came through after defending against champion Chris Simpson in four games. Rather than following his brother out of the tournament, he maintained a high-paced, 64-minute game and won three out of the four games: 10-12, 11-8, 11-7, 11-4.

Marwan ElShorbagy and Chris Simpson

Marwan ElShorbagy and Chris Simpson

Draw – Quarter Final (Gameplay: Dec. 10th, 2016)

Daryl Selby (ENG) v Saurav Ghosal (IND)

(Q) Paul Coll (NZL) v (4) Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL)

(3) Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) v (5) Tarek Momen (EGY)

(6) James Willstrop (ENG) v (Q) Stephen Coppinger (RSA)


Read Next

Egypt’s Dominance in Squash

Is Squash Legend Jahangir Khan’s 555 Winning Streak Inflated?

Fares Dessouky Wins 2016 CCI International Crown

The History of Squash Racket

Top 5 Best Squash Racquet for Beginners